American Idol Season 9: Simon Cowell leaving

The 9th season of American Idol will premiere on January 12, 2010, on Fox. American Idol Season 9 will have a 4-hour, 2-night premiere for the open audition rounds. Simon Cowell, Randy Jackson and Kara DioGuardi remain as judges in the show while Ellen DeGeneres will permanently replace Paula Abdul as the fourth judge.

The voting for Season 9 will begin by February 23rd.

Guest judges for American Idol Season 9 Auditions include:

Avril Lavigne, Katy Perry, Joe Jonas, Mary J. Blidge, Joe Jonas, Kristin Chenoweth, Shania Twain, Neil Patrick Harris and Victoria Beckham.

On January 11, 2010, Simon Cowell announced that the ninth season of the show would be his last as a judge. Simon will leave American Idol at the end of 2010 to concentrate on bringing the American version of (U.K. talent show) X Factor to U.S. TV in 2011.

Be Sociable, Share!